SMS_SQL_MONITOR Service Fails after upgrade to SCCM

After upgrading my SMS 2003 SP2 site to SCCM 2007 SP1 the “SMS_SQL_MONITOR” service would fail to start stating Error 2: Cannot find the specified file.

I finally figured out (by stumbling across the website below) that this service is an SMS 2003 service only and is not required for SCCM. Apparently this is a bug in the Setup that doesn’t remove this service for you..

*I should also note that I verified that this service does not exists in my clean install of SCCM in my Lab.

Instructions on removing this service here:
http://blogs.technet.com/alipka/archive/2008/07/22/sccm-sp1-slipstream-setup-on-sms-2003-sp2-sp3-site-fails-to-remove-sms-sql-monitor-service.aspx

Leave a Reply

